News & Events

Resources for Landscape Architects

News from the CSLA – December


Landscapes/ Paysages


APALA members are invited and encouraged to submit material for every publication of Landscapes/Paysages!  It would be wonderful to have a contribution from the Atlantic Provinces in each publication.  Please contact Sue Sirrs if you would like to discuss ideas or suggestions.




Richard Seypka – In Memoriam


We are very sorry and sad to advise that Richard Seypka passed away suddenly on August 31, 2013 at age 65. Richard was one of the first landscape architects to establish a practice in Newfoundland and Labrador, and helped develop the profession for others. As his obituary references “Richard was a free spirit with a strong connection to nature. His passion will forever live on through his legacy as a professional Landscape Architect” (The Telegram, September 5, 2013). Our condolences go out to his son, family and friends.




2013 Pearl Awards for Urban Design and Gardens


The Pearl Awards for Urban Design is a program launched by the City of Mount Pearl in 2005 with several key objectives: to promote excellence in Urban Design in the City of Mount Pearl, to enhance the quality of life and aesthetics in the City through architectural and landscape architectural design, to advance environmental stewardship and innovative sustainable design, and to recognize the designers, developers, and property owners who have achieved success in urban design projects in Mount Pearl.


The program is now in its 9th year, and since its inception, the City of Mount Pearl has partnered with the Newfoundland & Labrador Association of Landscape Architects (NLALA), the Atlantic Planners Institute (API – NL Branch) and the Newfoundland & Labrador Association of Architects (NAA). Each year a member of (formerly) NLALA, and now since this year APALA, has volunteered to represent the organization on the urban design jury. Neil Dawe of Tract Consulting Inc. was the 2013 representative reviewing the nominations, and recommending 1 Award of Excellence for Urban Design (Schlumberger Canada Ltd. – 2 Panther Place – Mount Pearl). The awards ceremony took place on November 7, 2013.


A big thank you to Neil Dawe for participating in this valuable initiative that is promoting and celebrating excellence in urban design.





CSLA Needs Help to Build the Pool of Speakers for the Speakers’ Bureau

Eighteen speakers are now featured on the CSLA Speakers’ Bureau. Visit the Speakers’ Bureau page of the CSLA website to find out who has registered and how you can become a registered speaker. This is your opportunity to get involved with the CSLA! CLICK HERE to learn more  

 Call for Sponsors and Exhibitors 

CSLA 2014 Congress and 80th Anniversary   —   Ottawa, May 29-31, 2014  

The CSLA is pleased to announce the 2014 Congress Sponsor Program. 

The CSLA Congress is the premier networking and educational event for the growing Canadian landscape architecture profession. The CSLA represents all major decision-makers from Canada’s landscape architecture profession, including landscape architects from private practices, educational facilities, municipalities, government ministries and agencies. The Congress provides a rare opportunity to engage with a cross-section of industry leaders.

Reach those working today to shape our landscape. We invite you to participate in this exciting event. 

BOOK SOON! Only 26 spaces in the trade show are available this year! 

CLICK HERE for further information

Call for Abstracts – CSLA 2014 Congress

The CSLA’s 2014 Congress and 80th Anniversary will be held in Ottawa, May 29-31, 2014. The theme focuses on the role of adaptive planning and design in advancing resilience and preparedness in landscapes and in communities faced with the challenge of changing climate.  The deadline is January 24, 2014. CLICK HERE for further information and to download the Call for Abstracts.

CSLA Awards of Excellence Call for Submissions


The deadline for the 2014 CSLA Awards of Excellence is January 24, 2014. CLICK HERE to find out more!

The CSLA Awards Atlas


The Awards Atlas features the landscape architecture projects that have won a national CSLA Award of Excellence from 2010 to 2013. CLICK HERE to learn more…

President’s Pin Design Competition

The CSLA is pleased to announce the launch of a design competition for a pin honouring the presidents, past, present and future, of our society. The CSLA invites you to showcase your creativity by designing a unique pin to be worn by CSLA presidents. CLICK HERE for more information.

From the College of Fellows – 2014 Call for Nominations

It’s time once again to honour the best of our profession by electing them to the College of Fellows! Induction to the College of Fellows is the highest honour the Society bestows on its members.  Candidates for Fellowship may be nominated by individuals through the President of their CSLA component association. The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2014, at 4 p.m. PST. Members eligible for nomination for Fellowship are landscape architects with at least twelve continuous years as full members of CSLA.  They also should be recognized as having made outstanding contributions to the profession through excellence in:


Executed works,

Administrative professional work in public agencies, 

Professional university instruction, 

Professional writing, 

Through service to the community or the public, 

Direct service to the CSLA.

A jury of five Fellows, representing regions across Canada, will select the new Fellows based on extensive submissions documenting each candidate’s contributions to the profession.  The successful candidates will be inducted into the College of Fellows at an investiture ceremony during Congress 2014 “climates|adaptions|landscapes” in Ottawa, ON, May 29 – 31, 2014. Since the inception of the CSLA College of Fellows in 1964, only 198 members have been given the prestigious designation “FCSLA”, making it a true distinction and honour conferred by the Society. CLICK HERE to find out more!

2013 Campaign of Fellows

The CSLA College of Fellows invites you to participate in the annual fundraising campaign in support of the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation. The College of Fellows initiated this campaign in 1988 and to date, close to $325,000 has been contributed to the LACF by CSLA members and fellows. Last year alone, the campaign generated $30 000. This year, with your contribution, the College of Fellows hopes to do even better!  CLICK HERE to learn more.

National Urban Design Awards – Call for Submissions Deadline is February 13, 2014

RAIC, the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP), and the CSLA are pleased to announce a Call for Submissions for the 2014 National Urban Design Awards. Winners from existing urban design awards in select cities will automatically be submitted to the National Urban Design Awards. Any individual or organization in any Canadian urban municipality can submit a project. CLICK HERE to learn more.



© 2021 APALA. All Rights Reserved. | Design:

A component organization of

CSLA: Canadian Society of Lnadscape Architects AAPC: L'Association des architects paysagistes du Canada

Work with a
Landscape Architect

Become a
Landscape Architect

Member Directory